Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
3 hours ago comment added RMDman By now any moisture has been absorbed into the drywall or wood members and either will be or has been dissipated. I think you can start taking stock of what repairs need to be done.
3 hours ago comment added SunDodger Update: so far no new soft spots have been detected, and the damaged seam area is dry to the touch after drilling all the breather holes and blasting it for 24 hours with a carpet blower. I have since returned the carpet blower and replaced it with a house fan. If everything is looking and feeling dry (so far) from inside the room, should I be worried about hidden moisture I can’t see or feel, and consider a dehumidifier?
11 hours ago comment added psmears @Huesmann: Yes, or even a dehumidifier - these can be hired for not too much money, if OP doesn't have one they own/can borrow.
yesterday comment added RMDman You are doing just as you should. Gold star .
yesterday comment added SunDodger Confirmed no insulation, drilled a few breather holes and have a carpet dryer trained on the area where the drywall seam was compromised to see if I can get it good and dry without tearing the ceiling apart. The drywall is somewhat soft immediately around this area - not mushy and saturated by any means, but I can leave a simple with my fingernail. Everywhere else, the drywall still feels hard to the touch, save for a few screw dimples that have shown up here and there. Appreciate everyone’s help again… let me know if it sounds like I’m on the right track here
2 days ago comment added RMDman The meter will give you information which can give peace of mind or increased worry. If it does show high moisture it is still unknown if there will be results that require greater attention. I have a meter, but if this was my house I would just try to assist with drying by heat or fans and wait.
2 days ago comment added SunDodger Can't tell you guys how much I value your perspectives. Is it worth getting a moisture meter and probing around, or best to not fret if there are no visible signs of moisture damage elsewhere in the room?
2 days ago comment added isherwood I agree with this answer. Wait and see. Even a bit of mold isn't worth opening a bag of worms. Every house has some mold somewhere.
2 days ago comment added Huesmann Unlikely to be insulation betwen floors. Might be worth getting a fan and keeping it blowing on the area. Drying out the surface will let any water deeper in wick to the surface.
2 days ago comment added RMDman It wouldn't hurt turning on the heat. If you have the blueprints it would show if there is insulation between floors. Drilling a small hole and probing is not a bad idea. Do it by the tape seam that needs repaired anyway.
2 days ago comment added SunDodger Thank you so much for taking the time to lend me some advice. I actually just bought the place earlier this year so not 100% sure if there is insulation between floors but I doubt it… would the best way to check be to drill between the joists and see? The place was built in ‘91, but the bathroom has radiant floor heating… which maybe I should turn that on to help dry things out?
2 days ago history answered RMDman CC BY-SA 4.0